A World in a Shell

Snail Stories for a Time of Extinctions

Tardigrade
1 min readJul 26, 2022

by Thom van Dooren

I love to find a book that answers questions that I have never even thought to ask. I knew nothing about snail extinction in Hawaii, for a matter of fact I knew very little about snails in general. So I was intrigued when I found a whole book about this topic. And my curiosity was amply satisfied. Snails turned out to be fascinating creatures, moreover, they serve as a pretext for wider reflection on evolution, colonialism, and our place in the natural world.

The author, an environmental philosopher, or a field philosopher, as he prefers to think of himself, is a wonderful guide to this disappearing world. His style is poetic, his openness and empathy boundless.

Recommended to anyone who likes modern nature writing and/or is interested in evolutionary biology.

--

--

Tardigrade

I am a voracious reader of non-fiction and popular science books. Here you will find my reviews.